Welding fumes-phosgene gas

paint94979

Beer Nazi
Sep 18, 2006
Any of you guys that weld a lot or by profession wear SCBA or use HEPA filtered air from a pump?

LBZ

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 2, 2007
B.C.
Any of you guys that weld a lot or by profession wear SCBA or use HEPA filtered air from a pump?

Every shop welder at my mine wears a battery operated ventilated helmet that draws air from the lower back through a filter system for all welding even just mild steel. They only go under supplied air if welding in confined spaces.

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
Also, in case you didn't know. HEPA is a particulate rated filter and not suitable for fumes. So almost useless for welding.

Ok for use when drawing air from a clean (fume free) location though

jlawles2

Jan 28, 2010
Danbury, TX
Look closely at Brake cleaner. A lot of it is still chlorinated and if you read the article, that is what the welder used. I know they make an un-chlorinated brake cleaner, but out of habit, they recommend using acetone to clean the parts to avoid the possibility of using the wrong brake cleaner.

WVRigrat05

Wound for sound
Jan 1, 2011
French Creek, West Virginia
Look closely at Brake cleaner. A lot of it is still chlorinated and if you read the article, that is what the welder used. I know they make an un-chlorinated brake cleaner, but out of habit, they recommend using acetone to clean the parts to avoid the possibility of using the wrong brake cleaner.

This is can be bad, had a friend helping another welder install a wellhead, he put brake clean on it while it was still hot, it ****ed that other welder up.

WolfLMM

Making Chips
Nov 21, 2006
AL
We always use acetone to clean with. Welding shop is Tig only and highly ventilated. Be careful out there guys, you only got one set of lungs.

DAVe3283

Heavy & Slow
Sep 3, 2009
Boise, ID, USA