LB7 Blown head gasket and/or injector cups Part 2 after closed thread!~

fishv12

Jan 30, 2011
Good day all,

Alright so here it goes my upper rad hose is having a hard on. Truck is a 2002 with a little over 120,000miles. I bouth it 20k miles ago and as far as I know it's been stock but that is hard to tell.

Now I have to replace either the head gaskets and/or injector cups which I am simply thinking about doing both but I am a noob and need help. I am good with a wrench and have the will the learn. Need help with this job and I just want ppl posting that has done this job themselves not looked at someone do it. Serious posts only! I would like to refer people to my old thread since there is alot that has been said already and my thread has been closed because of misconduct which pissed me off but whatever. http://www.duramaxdiesels.com/forum/showthread.php?t=43601

In the mean time I have failed to find myself a beater car which totally sucks. Had my hopes on a 2004 Epica with 100k miles yesterday but after playing with it for a while I figured it has a bad valve/piston ring or guess what head gasket since it's blowing exhaust gases through the oil filler hole like crazy. I bought parts to fix it too thinking it was in good shape :S Just my luck lol!

duramatt05

Nov 21, 2010
sunderland, Ont
I did mine myself. Make sure u take ur time label electrical connectors when u take them apart. Definatly have ur heads plained and check for cracks. (My one head ended up having a crack.) Just don't rush urself.

MACKIN

Smell My Finger...
Aug 14, 2006
Connecticut
Not aware of your location but perhaps there is a member or two here who has experience in doing a HG job that can lend a hand for pizza and beer?

Definitely have the heads checked for surface imperfections. In addition anything else mentioned here from others findings. You do NOT want to do this twice I assume over couple hundred bucks.

Chevy1925

don't know sh!t about IFS
Staff member
Oct 21, 2009
Phoenix Az