Help: CP3 disassembly!

mytmousemalibu

Cut your ride, sissy!
Apr 12, 2008
Kansas
Hey fellas, I have an LB7 CP3 about 80% torn down out in my shop. How the heck do you get the shaft/rotor and pumping elements out:confused: I have this strange and bad feeling that all the pump elements have to be depressed to get the shaft out?

Its used of course and may or might not be good, so far i see nothing too out of place, one of the pump element caps and inlet valve was kinda dirty. I'd like to tear it completly apart and inspect and clean it out real good and see if i can apply some ideas ive had.

So if any of ya can help, i'd sure appriciate it! And if any one knows where i can get parts if i need them!

Thanks in Advance, Chris!:hug:

mytmousemalibu

Cut your ride, sissy!
Apr 12, 2008
Kansas
Damn! I shoulda known:rofl: After i stared at it and played around foe 5 min thats kinda what i was thinkin. Im a tech at an independant BMW shop and theres all kinds of special EXPENSIVE tools we need, but we hardly ever get them so im the "special tools builder" round there so ill see if i cant pull a hat trick and make somthin;)

Thanks a million Pat:hug: If i come up with a tool, ill see if i cant make a duplicate and send one to ya!:hug::D

Last edited:

McRat

Diesel Hotrodder
Aug 2, 2006
Norco CA
www.mcratracing.com
There is a 3 lobe crank in the center, and in each bore is a cup, spring, and a piston. The spring is maybe 40lbs and it's what you have to push up to get the crank out.

mytmousemalibu

Cut your ride, sissy!
Apr 12, 2008
Kansas
Ok, will do, i'll go attack it tomorrow, my back and i have given up and gone inside for the evenin:D I decided that was a good time to stop before i F-up somthin in there!

McRat

Diesel Hotrodder
Aug 2, 2006
Norco CA
www.mcratracing.com