2007 LBZ 6 mpg in town

Raines Iron Works

Apr 25, 2017
Hello I'm new to the Duramax family. I have a 2007 lbz with 107k miles
Bone stock with factory size tires. I just checked my mileage for the first time, the dash said 13.8 but actually it was 6.3 driving like a grandpa for the most part.
What's wrong with my truck?
Thanks in advance

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
Welcome to the site, but I have to ask why you arent taking the truck to a shop to have it checked out?
Theres no way to know whats going on with the truck with so little info and no history. Its best to be diagnosed in person.

Raines Iron Works

Apr 25, 2017
I would take it to the shop but I work close to 70 hours a week right now so I have not had the time. I just bought the truck a few weeks ago. From what I can tell it was a grandpa truck before with a 5th wheel hitch.
I just ordered the EGR blocker and finger stick hoping that will help
All fluid changes and filters are current. I'm not sure what can be going on.

Raines Iron Works

Apr 25, 2017
I don't think so ChrisPerry. It has been a constant 1/4 tank a day on my 26 mile commute. I have a 59 F100 with a pi$$ed off 300" straight six and it does better than my modern diesel. The only thing I can think is a EGR malfunction or plugged cat but it has not thrown a CEL and it has plenty of power.

THEFERMANATOR

LEGALLY INSANE
Feb 16, 2009
ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
Look for fuel leaks. I'm north of 400HP to the wheels with mine, and couldn't get MPG that bad if I tried. My WORST tank has been 10.2, and that was towing a box trailer that weighed close to 10K and stood almost 12 feet tall, running 70+ GETTIN ON IT! Otherwise you're going to have to give us something to go on here. And I HIGHLY doubt even a stuck open EGR valve would drop the MPG's that much without MASSIVE amounts of black smoke and running like crap.

ChrisPerry

Apr 4, 2016
Ventura, CA