Torque Converter Noise?

last_one

Mar 22, 2008
My torque converter is making a clanking or rattling noise at idle. goes away at higher rpm. i thought my truck was sounding a little wierd, so i crawled under and noticed the noise. took of the inspection plate and it was even louder. kinda looks like the converter is wobbling back and fourth a little. So i took out my starter and made sure all the tc bolts were in still, they were all in. any thoughts on this.:confused:

LBZrcks

Jun 2, 2007
SoCal
Are you sure all the bolts are in? I know you checked, but that could be a problem, also how has the tranny been shifting? I would check your spin on and see if there is any material in and on it, Maybe a broken flex plate? I'm no expert but those are what I think can be making the noise.

last_one

Mar 22, 2008
I'm thinking broken flex plate also. I'm sure all the bolts are in. I felt each and every one. I think a few days ago I heard a scraping noise in there also. but im not sure.

LLY

Diesel Addict
Apr 24, 2008
Idaho
Mine started doing the same thing, about 2 days after I put the trans back in my truck,it turned out to be the torque converter bolts came lose.

Cobra#3747

Jan 2, 2007
Baltimore, Maryland
1. Make sure every bolt is loose

2. generally a cracked flywheel makes more of a knocking noise than a rattle.

3. does it go away when you put in gear? If so, more than likely its just the triple clutch setup makeing noise in the converter.

LLY

Diesel Addict
Apr 24, 2008
Idaho
Mine went away when I would put it in gear but it got worse and would do it all the time.Never has done it since I retightend the bolts

last_one

Mar 22, 2008
Im going to take my starter back out and make sure the bolts are tight when i cheked it yesterday i just made sure they were in. it also is kinda a nocking noise i guess?

last_one

Mar 22, 2008