The Dyno info write up

Buck'sLMM

Spark Plugs Suck!
Mar 3, 2010
DuBois, PA
(i wrote this up and they made it a sticky over on DF)

There is a lot of confusion and misinformation it seems about dyno’s and dyno tuning. While I am by no means an expert I have been a dyno operator for five years and partaken in several different classes on the subject. So here is a little break down of how a dyno work, what kind of dyno to use, and how to make sure you get your moneys worth from your time on the rollers.

How a dyno works

All dyno’s measure the torque your truck produces by measuring the amount of torque your tires put on the roll set via a strain gauge built into the roll set. This information is then put into a computer program which takes that number along with your engine speed (more on this later) and puts them into a simple math equation (Torque x Engine speed) / 5,252 = Horsepower. This is the basic function of any dyno and what most people want to know when going to a dyno.

Types of dyno’s

Inertia dyno – this is the most common and cheapest type of dyno used in aftermarket shops. It uses a preset load (weight of the roll set) to load the vehicle while performing tests. While still a semi accurate test of a vehicles horsepower and torque potential these dyno’s are not really suited to large vehicles like diesel trucks or anything with a turbo.

Load cell dyno – this type of dyno looks just like an inertia dyno but with the addition of a type of brake or power absorber (eddy current) to simulate a load on the vehicle. These dyno’s are found at high end aftermarket shops, tuning centers, and aftermarket manufactures and OEM’s.

Types of dyno tests