Sound coming from airbox.

Delta.Speed

Mar 26, 2022
Good afternoon everyone. Has anyone ever ran into a similar sound coming from the intake? Its barely noticeable from a distance but if you put your ear up to the intake box you can clearly hear it. Some kind of deep, steady, thumping sound. I dont hear any knocking or noise coming from the sides of the engine itself, and I have no loss of power or any other symptoms. Just the sound.

I've been working on my truck for several months now, and when I bought it this is one of the issues that it came with.

On disassembly I found a lifted injector, and as part of some upgrades I was planning on doing on the truck anyway, I installed a fresh set of Industrial Injection heads with pre-installed screw-in injector cups, and some new SAC style injectors. I also went back with SoCal billet injector hold downs. Everything seemed to indicate that the sound was compression passing up through the failed injector washer, so I thought that everythingI was upgrading wouldalso take care of the noise. Well apparently not.

Another suggestion I've gotten as a source for this sound is incorrect valve adjustment, but I triple checked my valve adjustment and did it by the book. I adjusted all valves on one TDC, checked them all a second time before moving to the next TDC, adjusted those, checked them a second time, and then spun the engine over 360° and checked all the adjustments again.

I've also heard bent or bad valve as a possibility, but the sound was there before, and its the exact same sound going back with all new loaded heads.

At this point I have no idea what this sound could be, and my local diesel shop took a listen and said they couldn't diag without a tear down which of course would suck after dumping over $13k on this truck.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
adcf8edb7a1440d21458ed894dad5ffb.jpg

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal