LBZ/LMM Path to power

jasonsram

Feb 16, 2013
So ive been trying charting the potential path to power for the lbz. this is with the 06/07 lbz in mind, before and after engines might have slightly different paths. lmm's are basicly the same path but you gotta start with deletes and then go from there. i just wanted to plan out in writing the path to power with the duramaxs, and note where the stumbling blocks are, and the steps to overcome them for more power. i might put a link in my sig in case it might help out a newbie like myself now, or later on. please feel free to add any inputs, i'd like to this to be a nice quick reference and something useful we could send the next noob who asks, "How do i make more power?" or "How do i get to 500/600/700hp?" etc etc. Please help with your input, as im just a noob myself. thanks..

Stock LBZ 360 hp

Step 1 90hp tune.. this is all a bone stock allison can reliably take day2day
(450hp 14 flat, 92mph in the quarter on a 4x4 2500)

Step 2 Trans Build (build with your goals in mind, but assuming you now adjust your tune youre good till about 500hp, wherein you'll need a lift pump (which duramaxes dont have as the fuel pump from the tank sends the fuel all the way to the injectors)(500hp on just a tune and a trans, 13.0 100mph quarter 4x4 2500)

Step 3.. Intake. LBZ stock intakes flow to 500hp or so, but since its such an relatively mod many people do this well before steps 1 or 2, but since it is not a limiting factor till the trans is done, it comes after on this list. (550 hp till you have no more fuel left, see step 5)(now you have 550hp, 12.8 104mph)

Step 4.. 4"BRBP adds hp but more importantly drops egt's by 200 degrees. Exhaust can easily be substitued for any one of the steps above, but it is not a limiting factor and thus didnt come earlier in this guide to power.