LB7: lb7 slow spool up problems

strongsperformance

2002 sierra cc dually
Jan 14, 2011
lake orion michigan
I am having a problem more often than not. If I am cruising 1700 or less rpm and lay into the pedal my truck seams to just pause for like 3 sec. it puts out a extremely amount of smoke until the turbo gets spooled then it pulls hard.
im fairly new to turbo's and diesels but in a gas drag car I would say it seams rich. My tunes are done by rob and I did not notice this before my cp3 went out. Now with a low mileage cp3 and a new lb7 reg I notice it.
I have yet to get to a efilive unit to log it and send it to rob.
Is it common to have your tunes logged and fine tuned after installed?
Oh only had efilive for 5 days before cp3 failure.
any help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you

cafryer

May 5, 2011
Utah
I would start with the regulator. Did you put a new one on or did the cp3 just come with a new one

strongsperformance

2002 sierra cc dually
Jan 14, 2011
lake orion michigan
I bought a used pump from tony at allseason diesel and I removed the original reg and installed a brand new lb7 reg. I don't think it matters but the cp3 is from a lly but i definitely put a new lb7 reg.

Burn Down

Hotrodder
Sep 14, 2008
Boise Idaho
Try putting the stock tune back in and see if the problem goes away. Sometimes tunes need slight tweaking from truck to truck.

cafryer

May 5, 2011
Utah
Your new pump can be flowing alot more fuel and is puting out the fire (per say) I also would put the stock tune in and see if it spools better.

Fastorange

Jan 31, 2009
ohio
kinda in a way it sounds to me that he has a boost leak.. check and make sure everything is tight. also check the map sensor. make sure its pluged in all the way.

strongsperformance

2002 sierra cc dually
Jan 14, 2011
lake orion michigan
Today I checked all connections and all is well.
I hooked it up on efilive and logged it I am going to send it to Idaho rob to see if it needs fine tuning.