Is there such a thing as a regen inhibit?

BabyD08

Jul 1, 2022
My name is Dave and ive been reading and learning a lot on here for quite a while but tgis is my 1st post. I am a farmer and produce 800-1000 rolls of hay a year and up until this year I hauled with a LB7 but it was getting tired which I guess should be expected since it had 710,000 miles on it so now have a LML. Last week I drove it into the field to load and my wife was creeping along in the truck as I loaded with the tractor and everything was fine until the truck started a regen which caught the field on fire. By the time it was all over 70 acres burned, I lost 200 rolls of hay, and my neighbors hay barn burned to the ground. All together its gonna cost me 15,000-20,000 unless I file on insurance which will cost who knows how much in higher premiums for the rest of time. Sorry for the long story but I wanted everyone to understand why this is very important. Is there such a thing a regen inhibit like on a tractor where I could flip a switch so it will not regen while in the field? If not anyone have any ideas on how I can achieve this? If not I guess ill be in the market for a LBZ or LLY which will make the wife very upset. She loves the comfort of the truck and since she hauls 75% of the hay her comfort is important especially when she is driving the truck 40k a year

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
I'm not sure but I thought activating the PTO option if equipped would prevent the regen from happening while active.

Mikey52

Sep 20, 2018
Yep and a newer gas vehicle will set a field on fire too. Our local fire department started one while trying to put out a brush fire. Also saw a duramax burn up at a red light. He was hauling hay. I haul hay with my 2018. But after I'm home I have to blow out the inside of the rear bumper. It collects lots of hay. And it sits just above the exhaust.

BabyD08

Jul 1, 2022