LBZ: Help with head gasket or coolant problem

ToyhaulerTom

Old Tom
Jan 1, 2015
Southern California
I'm new to on-line help, but have really picked up a lot of info from you all. I've worked on gas engines most of my life, but a lot of parts on a diesel are new to me.
So, here's my story: While towing cross country, I started using coolant. System stayed pressurized, but was turning black with soot. I assumed I had blown a head gasket. Got it home to a truck mechanic who said it was my EGR cooler and he replaced it. Things got somewhat better, no more soot, but the system would belch out coolant even after 24 hrs of cooling down. I haven't been able to stablize the coolant level and I've been told by a GM mechanic that if the system stays pressurized overnight, he's a 100% sure its a HG. Another odd deal is once I've released coolant pressure and go for a drive, the temp warms to 175 in 2 miles then down to 160 in another mile, then after 3 or 4 miles go to 205, then stabilize at about 185?? The heater air reflects the same fluctuations.
I also have added a secondary bottle to the overflow tank and bubbles are observed in the fluid. It's a new cap and tank. Gaskets and parts are on order for a head removal adventure.
Any ideas?

onebaddmaxxx

Feb 22, 2009
Cecil County Md
Stay on track for head gaskets. The coolant is going up and down because its getting air pockets in from the cylinders. Im actually pulling mine apart tomorrow for head gasket issues. I am blowing coolant out of the overflow, and my heat is in and out. If i grandpa the truck it will never get warm enough to make heat.

ToyhaulerTom

Old Tom
Jan 1, 2015
Southern California
Thanks Onebaddmaxx,
Do you think it's worth another $50 by investing in one of those blue chemical tests that sample for exhaust gases in the coolant? I'm considering it, although my mind is pretty well made up to tear into it.

whitetrash21

put on da damn helmet day
Apr 29, 2008
Vegas