Finger Vanes

Fingers

Village Idiot
Vendor/Sponsor
Apr 1, 2008
White Oak, PA
Thought some of you might be interested in the latest revision of the Finger Vanes. This a picture of the latest prototypes.

attachment.php

Last edited:

Fingers

Village Idiot
Vendor/Sponsor
Apr 1, 2008
White Oak, PA
Whoops! Sorry about the huge picture. Didn't upload the resized one. Wonder if Kat or Pat could shrink it since I don't know how to fix it from my end.

Fingers

Village Idiot
Vendor/Sponsor
Apr 1, 2008
White Oak, PA
These are going into a charger this week. I have been running mine for a few months now and MiniSub has had his in for a while. They have a lag in spool up that the slots in these should reduce. If that pans out, I will refine and blend the profile. The slot should also require less table tweeking.

You have to tune towards the vane's character. The charger responds better with less angle than stock and back pressure is greatly reduced. Tip in back pressures were too high IMO, but I have found that you need to adjust the tables to command about 20% less max vane angle. Sometime even less. Just need to bring the spooling around a bit.

EGTs are a bit strange, They spike then actually go down after the vanes relax. I think it has to do with the Vane angle and backpressure. The lag in the EGT gauge makes it hard to be sure. So I am staying away from EGT claims till I understand that better and can be sure the vanes are helping.

FWIW, they sound mean too. :)

These are available now.

minisub

6-5/6-6;Whatever It Takes
Sep 11, 2006
Cleveland, OH
The vanes are a piece of cake to install. Separate the turbo. Pop out the old ones, drop in the new ones and clamp the turbo back together.

Now doing the turbo R&R is a whole 'nuther story.... :eek: :rofl:

And yes, they do sound mean...:)

kodiak

Sep 25, 2007
Less backpressure??? I am interested! This might go a step toward helping the OH problems of the LLY......You the man Fingers;)

Fingers

Village Idiot