LLY: Diagnosing smoke under acceleration

CheMathSec

Sep 21, 2016
North Carolina
Hi all,

I know this has been covered before, I've read several threads detailing similar issues, but I need some things cleared up. I'm new to the diesel world and know very little about cars/trucks in general. I'm getting there, but you must bear with me...

So here's the situation:
I bought my truck back in March with about 213000 miles to be a daily driver and pull my fifth-wheel. First time out with the camper, the problems started. Power steering pump and hydroboost died - had those replaced, hitched back up and blew a turbo hose off (somewhere behind the front driver's side fender well, only took the mechanic 10 minutes to get back on). Since then, I've noticed a good amount of black smoke whenever pulling the camper, especially going up hills. And now I've started noticing smoke under moderate acceleration (passing, highway on-ramps) without the camper. This smoke is sometimes white-light gray and sometimes black. It blows consistently until I let off the gas. It's also got a pretty loud knock around 1700 rpm, but that could just be regular Duramax sounds, I wouldn't know.

From everything I've read, there are a ton of things that could be causing this. I cleaned the MAF sensor and air filter, I have not replaced the fuel filter. I know that bad injectors may be a possibility and that I need to check the balance rates to get an idea, but I would need help figuring that out. I just picked up an OBD2 WiFi scanner and hooked it up to my iPad, but the numbers mean nothing to me.

I'm really just trying to get a reasonable diagnosis without dropping my truck off at a shop for multiple days. It is my daily driver and I have to get to work and school.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Burn Down

Hotrodder
Sep 14, 2008
Boise Idaho