2005 vs 2007

yooperguy

Sep 30, 2014
I'm new to buying a duramax and I am looking at two different trucks and wondering if I could get some insight.
One is a 2007 with 166,000 miles which was owned by a contractor so it is a little rough. It has newer tires, rock gaurd, and z71. Picture included.
The other one for about the same price is a 2005 with 120,000 miles and it has been owned by an older person which has me think it has had an easy life.
I am looking for reliability so any input would be great.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412112855.919373.jpg

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412112855.919373.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412112855.919373.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 92

diesel53

Sep 16, 2010
AZ
buy the 05 with less miles.. both are good trucks, 6 speed in the 07 would be alittle better but if the truck was not well maintained or had a rough life I would not mess with it.

NC-smokinlmm

<<<Future tuna killer
May 29, 2011
At Da Beach
Get the lmm (07). The lly (05) has known issues that were addressed on the newer truck, plus the lmm will hold its value much better for you over the next 5 years or so...

yooperguy

Sep 30, 2014
So if I get the 07 all checked out and it all looks good, that would be the better truck even though it has a more miles?
I think it is mostly rough on the interior.

Hot COCOAL

May the farce be with you
Jun 9, 2012
I'm new to buying a duramax and I am looking at two different trucks and wondering if I could get some insight.
One is a 2007 with 166,000 miles which was owned by a contractor so it is a little rough. It has newer tires, rock gaurd, and z71. Picture included.
The other one for about the same price is a 2005 with 120,000 miles and it has been owned by an older person which has me think it has had an easy life.
I am looking for reliability so any input would be great.
View attachment 35241

that LMM looks hammered, I wouldn't buy it...