Need suggestions

Idahodmax

Dec 22, 2015
Ok, so I finally got efi, 5in check dp back exhaust and egr delete kit.. how ever I don't got alot of free time to do it all at once.. I was thinking of maybe doing dsp5 and ppei efi live one night, 1 to 2 days later getting the exhaust in and on a weekend doing the egr delete.. is there any reason why this wouldn't be a good idea? I get like 2 to 3 hrs of day light a night after work, and I'm not technically inclined enough to trust my self say I can do the dsp5/efi and exhaust in one night

roxyfever

Feb 11, 2016
terrell tx
I dont see why not unless your truck has a dpf then you would have to do the exhaust dsp5 and tuning at the same time then egr later

Idahodmax

Dec 22, 2015
It does have the dpf, also a edge tuner with juice. I'm not entirely sure if just unplugging the chip under the hood will safice or if there's a way to Uninstall it

clrussell

pro-procrastinator
Sep 23, 2013
How much driving are you going to do between the two days?

I've tuned a couple trucks and they take them home and do the exhaust themselves.. Had one guy drove about 100 miles with no issues. As long as the dpf is clean you'll be fine for a few miles.

Idahodmax

Dec 22, 2015
Well I live less than 5 miles from work one way, but I'm sure my dpf is nice and sooted up since I have level 6 unlocked on my edge and if I get on it it will blow a cloud of smoke unfortunately and my regeneration cycle kicked in at least once a week. With my short drive to and from work I generally have to take a trip to the mountains to get it out of regen. I was thinking if I had to take the old ladies acadia, but who really wants to drive the mom mobile around??

JoshH

Daggum farm truck
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 14, 2007
Texas!!!
Why not do the exhaust first then just load the tune on right quick after? It takes about 10 minutes to do a full flash. You don't have to install the DSP5 switch if you're worried about that part taking too long.

Idahodmax