Synthetic vs. Conventional> What fluids do you guys use?

TannerJP

Trying to blow stuff up.
Dec 4, 2008
Houston, Tx
Information on engine oil change interval for Synthetics:
I'm no expert and haven't been doing oil analysis yet, but from what i understand, with the ULSD on the market today, you are perfectly fine goin the longer intervals on synthetics.

Considering the overall success of delo i think the only reason to run synthetics would be extended life cycles.

You can look up what results others have gotten out of their synthetics. People have had Amsoil with 20k miles on it tested and still pass soot, viscosity and other tests (in one extreme test a person reported ~40k miles old oil testing safe for next interval).
It depends on what you fuel with and what kind of performance mods you have, sure. But for 80-90 percent of dmax owners the extended cycle is fine.

The fool proof (mostly) process:
Add Amsoil (or any other synthetic certified for diesel engines).
500 miles before your typical oil change(5k miles) mail off a sample for analysis (you can buy a pack of ten analyses for $100). Use the first 4 on the first oil change (one at 5k then 10k then 15k then 20k to ease your 5k changing mind :p) and the remaining 6 every 10k miles until you have a trend in results.

The analysis will let you get the most out of your oil change. With the avg cost for the analyses of 25 dollars per change, you still save money w/ synthetics (1 synthetic change per every 3-4 reg)
Keep in mind you can use results from many others and accept that 10k is ok and test every 5k miles after 10k which is basically saving you the cost of the oil change you would normally do every 5k miles.