Starter problem? Maybe help…

Jimongee

Feb 18, 2023
i have an 07 Chevy duramax. 170 k mile. Original owner. very nice clean truck. Pretty much trouble free all its life. I parked it a couple days ago in my driveway. The overnight temp was 28° here in Nashville. When I went out to start it starter would engage make a clicking attempt to turn the engine but that’s it. Pretty much just like it had a discharge battery. So I disconnected the batteries and checked them each individually and they were both at 12 9 V. I also check the starter relay and it wasn’t that. So before I start thinking about replacing the starter what should I do? I was a technician for 33 years but that was about 20 years ago but I still work on all my own stuff so appreciate your help thank you. jim

Ron Nielson

Oct 11, 2009
Berryton, KS
Low temps decrease the ability of the battery to crank the engine, and the engine becomes much more difficult to turn over. Jason is correct, load test both batteries or put them on a charger to bring the charge up to full full.

Jimongee

Feb 18, 2023
Ok thanks. One of the batteries is 2 months old. And before I posted my question I disconnected the batteries and charged them. Then I checked them individually with my DVOM and got 13v each. Should I still load test? And I had a person attempt to start while I was watching the crankshaft balance just to make sure the engine was not locked or? Well when the starter is engaged the sound is pretty much like a low bakery with out the bendix chatter and the engine moves about 1 inch in rotation. Then nothing. Unbelievably I also found a P0761. This DTC in my opinion may very well just be a phantom since I’ve never ever had anything wrong with this pristine Allison…And so I am pretty certain that Code has nothing to do at all with the starter thing. Thank you for your help I really appreciate it. Jim

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal