DirecLink Brake Controller

Bdsankey

Vendor
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 1, 2018
Neenah, Wisconsin
Has anyone used the DirecLink brake controller? They seem to be the best you can get now that the Maxbrake style (tap into the hydraulic system) controllers are out of the market.

I've had a Tekonsha P3 and it worked decently well but I ended up having button failures repeatedly on the braking power selection arrows.

JoshH

Daggum farm truck
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 14, 2007
Texas!!!
I have no experience with that one, but I prefer the Prodigy P2 over the P3.

DAVe3283

Heavy & Slow
Sep 3, 2009
Boise, ID, USA
Having used both, I prefer the P3 over the P2. I feel they both use the same code/accelerometer internally, but I find the P3 has a more intuitive interface. I've had a P2 fail (stopped running the brakes and would run the truck's batteries dead overnight), but it was a decade old, so I don't hold that against it.

I do miss the old brake controllers that tapped into the hydraulics. I get that there is a risk of creating a problem with the hydraulic brakes if something goes wrong, but I still have one on my 1982 Chevy that works perfect, so it isn't a guaranteed problem waiting to happen or anything. The hydraulic sense ones always respond the most naturally to me, since they know how hard you're trying to brake regardless of trailer weight.

Bdsankey

Vendor
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 1, 2018
Neenah, Wisconsin
Having used both, I prefer the P3 over the P2. I feel they both use the same code/accelerometer internally, but I find the P3 has a more intuitive interface. I've had a P2 fail (stopped running the brakes and would run the truck's batteries dead overnight), but it was a decade old, so I don't hold that against it.