Cracked piston

nojokat

Dec 29, 2023
Vinton,Va
Hey guys, a couple of weeks ago I sent pics to where I left a black stripe (oil) all the way through my neighborhood. It was the rear main seal that blew, and it cracked #7 piston. When I get it apart, and that #7 cylinder wall hopefully is in good shape. If no machine shop is needed, I replace all 8 pistons, is there anything else I should do while I'm in there? The motor has 260,000 miles, brand-new ATS phase3 tranny.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks guys

nojokat

Dec 29, 2023
Vinton,Va
Ok, thanks on the injectors. I am somewhere around 650hp. I replaced the cp3 with a remanufactured modified 42%. Air dog 165 fuel pump. K&N cold air intake. Afe air intake at the turbo, EGR delete, EFI live (Thoroughbred Diesel) dsp5 switch.5" Magnaflow exhaust.
The tranny went out last month. Ive been milking the tranny for about 9 months, every time I would get into the pedal, motor was right there. The tcm would say " not doing this". CEL would come on, I would lose rev and over drive. All said and done, the tranny was $8,500.00. I added the billet flex plate. It's a triple disk converter w/ co-pilot. I thought the engine was strong. I was wrong. Winter time works a little slow, money is an issue. Without the truck to pull my work trailer from job to job that's a bigger issue. I just don't want to replace pistons, then 6 months from now I have to tear the motor down again.
Any feedback is greatly appreciated

juddski88

Freedom Diesel
Jul 1, 2008
Chesterfield, Mass.
Ok, thanks on the injectors. I am somewhere around 650hp. I replaced the cp3 with a remanufactured modified 42%. Air dog 165 fuel pump. K&N cold air intake. Afe air intake at the turbo, EGR delete, EFI live (Thoroughbred Diesel) dsp5 switch.5" Magnaflow exhaust.