Some help for a local

N2BRK

Dec 31, 2009
I sold my old lb7 heads for peanuts on facenuts to a really nice kid about 1-1/2hrs away. He just sent me this:

“…I had the heads resurfaced cleaned , vacuum/pressure tested and new injector cup o rings all done by a local engine shop. I reinstalled everything with new gaskets,studs, injectors, hard lines. started the truck up started fine, and ran but blow a blueish smoke getting worse with acceleration, had a rough idle. I noticed fuel leaking by cylinder 8, I found what looks to be a fuel like at the hardline at cylinder 8 so I pulled the valve cover back off again and found a milky like coating on the top of the valve cover injectors are all seated I’m not sure where to go from here, I’m supposed to be leaving for a camping trip Thursday. …”

I’m no expert, but I’m going to suggest either a cracked injector or leaking line. Can he test this to see which? Like run the engine without the valve cover and look for the fountain??? Any other advice that I can relay to him, please? Thanks!

Wally

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
Milky like coating to me sounds like coolant and oil mix more then fuel oil. Have him take a sample of oil from the drain and see what it looks like and do the paper towel test

Reactions: Bdsankey and N2BRK

Bdsankey

Vendor
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 1, 2018
Larsen, Wisconsin
I sold my old lb7 heads for peanuts on facenuts to a really nice kid about 1-1/2hrs away. He just sent me this: