should I get airbags

dirty max 2500

gutter butter
Oct 24, 2014
california
Hi I'm new.i just bought my truck last week.its a 2002 silverado 2500 duramax diesel. 6.6.i am a welder and I'm finally putting my truck together.how can I tell if my truck is 3/4 or 1/2 ton? Should I put airbags in? The welder is like 1300 pounds plus torch and tanks, and tool box? Prob a little over a ton iam thinking?what else can I do to my truck to make it a reliable welding truck?? It's stock thanks

LWATSON

future trans limpers
Jul 30, 2008
Scotland Neck NC
Your truck is a 3/4 ton. What type of welder do you have? if you have like a Bobcat or a Ranger you'll be fine without bags. But if you have one of the larger engine drives like a Big 40 or so you'll definitely need some suspension upgrades. My Big 40 weighs about 2000 lbs and I think the Bobcats weigh about 700 lbs? Just noticed you gave the weights of your equipment and judging from what you've listed Id say you'll need some suspension help. Are you building a bed for your truck? if so your going to add more weight with that. You may even want to look into converting the rear to dual wheels. Single will handle the weight ok but I've had a single weighted down like yours and switched to a dual rear and it was soooo much better to drive.
By the way, I'm a welder too, welcome to the forum!

Schwinn68

little gearhead
Jan 9, 2008
Minooka IL
I put bags on mine. Cheap insurance if you ask me. I have a trailblazer 325 efi plus bottles and tools. I also carry plastic fusion tools so my shortbed is full. The bags brought the truck back up to level.

LWATSON

future trans limpers
Jul 30, 2008
Scotland Neck NC
I finally got tired of all the weight in my truck and built a service trailer with everything on it. I don't go out in the field but once or twice a week, most of my work is in the shop, so its not too aggravating. I got tired of having to take my welding rig to the grocery store and to drop the kids off at daycare lol.

Schwinn68