new to this life of LMM/diesel help wont start

flow11234

Aug 5, 2017
So I’m new to the diesel life, I brought a 2008 Silverado 3500hd dually 6.6L Duramax turbo charged with 205k miles. So I brought it knowing it wasn’t starting, when I got the truck I started trying to do my own diagnostic lol. The check engine light was on and the scan tool obd2 codes the truck was putting out was p0113, p0676, p0677, p0678, p0102, p0675, p0533, p0166c. I change the batteries, glow plus and pumped up the purge canister. The truck cranks over very strong and long but no start. So I checked the fuse box and according to the diagram slot [20] is the fuel pump 20A. so I checked it and there is no power whether the key is on or off. So I manually powered the fuse box slot by hot wiring it directly to the battery, still nothing. So to me it should like the truck was looking for fuel. I went and brought start fluid and sprayed 3 shoots and the truck start right up with no problem, but it shut off after 2 to 3 minutes. I was told I have bad injectors what do you guys think

Novak

SQUIRREL TRYN TO GET A NUT
Jun 15, 2015
Cloud 9, IDAHO
No starting fluid ever....starting fluid is to be used if there is a fire breathing dragon chasing you and you have no other choice lol

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Awenta

Sep 28, 2014
CT
There is no fuel pump. Log rail pressure cranking

Dozerboy

Jun 23, 2009
TX of course
Get the truck to a diesel tech who can fix for you. My maigic wand that diagnosis diesel trucks over the internet is broken

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

briencolgan

brien colgan
Jan 26, 2017
Ithaca, NY
If you're really going to be working on the truck mostly by yourself, get a better scanner.