Major allison problems..what do you think?

AJ500

May 25, 2010
100_0999.jpg

100_1000.jpg

Long story short the trans locked up on me. It is a suncoast kit and that is the only bad pack, i dont have a picture of the other clutches but they are actually welded together! What do you think caused this????

JoshH

Daggum farm truck
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 14, 2007
Texas!!!
Wow, that's pretty impressive. I've never seen that before.

TIMTHECARMAN2004

Block Hole Maker
Sep 23, 2007
It looks like someone installed it incorrectly. There should be external splines against the apply plate. It looks like someone put the internal splines first...

Mike L.

Got Sheep?
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Aug 12, 2006
Fullerton CA
That is the C3 clutch pack and it was mis assembled. It was also slipping and doing wrong things and it was pushed to extreme under these conditions.
You showed it no mercy when you did this.

Akdiesel

IFS Hater
Aug 23, 2009
Fairbanks
I'm no trans expert but I've never seen an Ally do that and all I could think was something had to have been mis installed...who did the install?

Mike L.

Got Sheep?
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Aug 12, 2006
Fullerton CA
I am seeing more of this lind of stuff from the tech calls I get. The word is out that the Allison is an easy piece of cake. The guys that pack this stuff are minimum wage and don't give a shit. Sometimes the wrong clutches are packed in the wrong box. The guys putting this stuff together tend to mix everything up looking at the kit with goo goo eyes and cannot remember how it was packaged. There are no instructions as these kits were designed to have a professional put them together. Tech support costs a lot of money considering you tie up a tech a bunch of time with questions and stops him from earning his wages doing constructive thing for the company.