LMM: Hello from south Texas

Arciniega

Feb 20, 2018
McAllen, TX
Hello everyone my name is Jose Arciniega. I have owned my 07.5 crew cab Silverado LT for almost two years now, but still I consider myself new to diesels since I haven't worked much on these engines. I used to own a 1980 International Scout II with a stock SD33T diesel engine on it, but working on it was much simpler then working on these new motors.

Well like I mentioned I bought my LMM almost two years ago wiith 248k miles on it. A month after I got it, I did the DPF delete and EGR delete. Programmed it put some 285/75 R16 tires on it and done the regular maintenance on it. I replaced the front hub rotors with some TIMKEN ones just for peace of mind as well as the entire front end suspension. I work as a boiler maker/welding QC Inspector so I travel a lot. I've put over 40k miles on it, I'm very happy with it and enjoying it very much.
Unfortunately, when I bought the truck, I was aware it had had some front end damage but it had been fixed. Well apparently the transmission oil cooler got damaged and instead of replacing it with an original, a smaller one is there and the cooler lines were just hacksawed off and a hose rammed in the tubing (which has no barbs) with a hose clamp, and on to a barbed 1/2 inch fitting on the cooler itself. Four weeks ago the hose slipped off the barbless tubing and I lost about a gallon and a half of my transmission oil. Anyways now I'm trying to find some lines and an original cooler or one that does as good or better job as the original, so I may fix it properly. In the mean time I tried to flare the ends of the tubing and replaced the hose with a longer hose that allows me to double hose clamp the tubing side until I can do a permanent fix. Its just too bad this happened while I'm away from home on a job and need my vehicle to get to work. Anyways thats my story. Hope everyone is doing great.