Duramax pioneer thread

LWATSON

future trans limpers
Jul 30, 2008
Scotland Neck NC
Saw something similar on another forum.
Who inspired you? I got the itch years ago, my first dmax was an 02, traded it for an 03 and still have my 06 I bought after that. I remember an article where guys were racing up a mountain pulling a 10k trailer. I believe Kennedy was one of the competitors. Then I read about the Spruills breaking into the 11's. Things moved really fast after that but I've met allot of strong willed people over the past few years that have pushed the Dmax to where it is now.

rgullett83

Oct 27, 2008
Illinois
I was a gm tech when the dmax came out. I was very impressed, but back then I had no need for one(not that I do now lol), but they were out of my budget. My pioneer happens to be a very close friend(member here goes by durtymax), that happened to really get me in this game, after he bought a new lly back on 2005. Been down hill ever since. I have owned a few as he as well. He still has the 05 he bought new, however it now has a D60 under the front and has been transformed into a 2.6 pulling truck, that we have done 95% of the work to. It has been a blast, I have made some true friends, and learned so much over the last 13 years or so:thumb:

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
Eric Merchant, Michael Tomac, Buck Spruill, John Kennedy, Jeremy Moss and Brandon Meyers were a few of the guys that got my interest started, and they were among many others who helped drive me to finally start building my truck. I was always a fan of what Pat and Kat were doing, and Jon (GotJuice?) and Scott (partsguy662) were some of my favorite people to talk to and laugh with.

I've learned so much over the years just talking with people like MikeL, Guy, IdahoRob, Trent, Simon, Brian and James that I just could never, ever thank them all for their help. There are so many people here who would offer help or assistance or inspiration....