LB7: build bearings

dirtydmax

<---up shit creek
Sep 1, 2013
muskoka,Ont Canada
Alrighty guy's,im almost at the stage for assembling my block and have some Q's about bearings.I have been shopping for a complete set of clevite h mains/thrust,rod and cam bearings and the best price I can come up with is cotnp at about $450 usd but when I add shipping and conversion from us to can I am over $600(give or take)so my question is at what point are h series needed over p's?I know the p series will work but is it a REALLY bad idia to use them?Can get factory p's at cost which is about half is why I ask.Thanks for any advice and tips as this is my first build!

Slowmax

Build what others' won't
Aug 3, 2013
United States
If your building a performance motor put in H bearings. If it is not going to be a high HP build put what you feel comfortable with. The machine shop I use has shown me the difference in the two. From what I saw there was a big difference in wear between the two. The price between the two is for that reason. But cost is always gonna be the determining factor. Is having those P bearings coated in Canada an option?

Last edited:

dirtydmax

<---up shit creek
Sep 1, 2013
muskoka,Ont Canada
If your building a performance motor put in H bearings. If it is not going to be a high HP build put what you feel comfortable with. The machine shop I use has shown me the difference in the two. From what I saw not hear say. But cost is always gonna be the determining factor. Is having those P bearings coated in Canada an option?
Not sure on coating them!A built duramax up here is unheard of so we pay out the ass for anything and everything.i know there some members south of me but performance diesel isn't big like down south.This is a performance build so I guess I will have to save my pennies for the h's,Thanks for the reply.

SilveradoTwins02

Hopefully twins soon
Aug 5, 2014
Hanover PA