Battery over Charge

ghosty

May 5, 2014
Western Australia
Hi All,
I have just picked up my new truck complete with, brand new LMM 2010 and Edge CTS unit. COmplete my first journey the yesterday with a major issue.

I have an alternator that is over charging my batteries and causing them to vent massively and die.
I have just completed a 4000km + journey and have fried the original battery and the new battery I bought part way. Along with this other items in the car are starting to go from excessive voltage.

The alternator is a Bosch BR14-C-R 125amp (has two battery connections Bat1, Bat2) it is putting out 15Vdc, with every thing electrical turned on in the car it is putting out 14.8Vdc, still to much.

Can anyone tell me how to reduce the charge rate down to 14v please. I have read it can be done in the ECU, I have an edge CTS, not sure if I can use this to adjust ECU. I am a noob to the CTS and the 6.6 Dmax

Thanks in advance.

chevyburnout1

Fixing it till it breaks
Aug 25, 2008
Berthoud, CO
That voltage sounds slightly ok to me personally. Yeah it's a little on the high side but I wouldn't see that taking out batteries or electronics. The ECM does not control the charging system on your truck. It's all internal to the alternator itself. Are you saying the alternator has two big power studs to hook up the main charge-back wire? If so that does not sound factory. Take the alternator in and get tested, or replace it with a good GM/ACdelco unit.

Usual voltage I have seen on LMM's have been 14.2-14.8v. On start-up I'll see 15.1-15.2.

Last edited:

ghosty

May 5, 2014
Western Australia
Thanks for the reply, the alternator is brand new, on my vehicle the alternator field is set by the ECM, not self regulated. I think its core 38 (maybe 32) on the ECM harness.

At least this is what I believe to be the case, the electrical drawings I have support this as well.