2015 Axle Shaft Lateral Runout

coker6365

Coker6303's ***** Daddy
Dec 4, 2011
I have been fighting the dreaded vibration since day one on my 2015 Denali. 3 sets of tires, 5 road force balances, and an ongoing law case later... the problem still exists and gets worse with a load.

I may have stumbled across something that could be a potential problem. The rear wheel lateral runout is roughly .024" on the driver side and .014 on the passenger side. So I figured, let's check the hub since I have already checked the wheels on a hunter machine which came out to .003" at the worst. The hub was showing .010" lateral runout. I found that odd as the bearings were tight and there were no signs of abnormal wear. So I pulled the axle shaft out and checked the runout on the hub again... showed .002" at the worst. As soon as the axle shaft is torqued down, the runout jumps to .010 or worse. Once the high side was found, the axle shaft could be torqued down with .006" runout using 1 bolt. As soon as any of the other bolts were torqued, you could see the gap in the gasket close and the runout immediately went over .010".

I am debating on replacing the axle shafts at my cost to fix the issue as I am tired of fighting with the dealership over it time and time again. I pulled the shafts out and rigged up seals for the end caps so I could run down the road in 4wd and have minimal lateral runout on the rear. The problem seemed to disappear, but more diagnosing is in order before parts are ordered.

Can anyone check their hub runout and compare their findings to mine? Also, will the axle shafts out of an 06 fit the 2015?

Last edited:

quadracer37

Mar 31, 2009
northern, IL
In regards to your last question, no the 01-10 model axles WILL NOT fit on your 15. You'll need shafts from an 11-15 model. I have a used set from an 11 if your interested in testing your theory, vs buying brand new parts.

coker6365

Coker6303's ***** Daddy
Dec 4, 2011