04 GMC 2500 duramax with 259,000 miles.

Cww

Older fng
Sep 5, 2013
Texas
I am new to Diesel engines and am looking to but a nice clean 2004 GMC Sierra 4x4 2500 HD with the LB7. It has 259k miles. No leaks and mechanic checked injector pressures and all were good. Clean inside and out. What's the mileage duramax's are going these days? Any suggestions b4 spending 9500 dollars. How much life is left in this engine? Truck drives great.

BigDMax05

Peanut butter and ladies!
Feb 2, 2009
Indiana
Welcome to site! If the truck has been maintenanced well and not lived an overly hard life it's not uncommon for these trucks to go 450k+ with good maintenance and fixing the wear out items. Most common motor trouble on lb7's is obviously injectors but also the injection pump(cp3), water pump, and idler pullies. Also on the injectors your not only looking for proper pressure but also balance rates and fuel return rates. The balance rates can be had with most common hand held programmers or a good scan tool. The fuel return rate is a mechanical test done that tells you how much fuel each bank is returning. Hope this helps. If the truck is really nice not ragged out and the injectors and pressure look good. $9500 is not a bad price for that truck. At least around here.

02greysixer

Jun 4, 2011
North Central FL
Really depends on what/how the truck was used and how you intend to use it. If it's clean and in good shape I don't think 9500 is a bad price. There's a few trucks on here with 300k plus miles How many hours does the cluster show on the engine?

sent from a galaxy far far away

S Phinney

Aug 15, 2008
Quncy, Fl
I have one with over 380k and still on original motor and trans. I has had three additional sets of injectors with one being just done. If you can get it cheaper you would have more wiggle room if needed.

Cww

Older fng
Sep 5, 2013
Texas